17th Annual Greater Cleveland Sports Awards

Celebrate the best of Cleveland sports at the region's most anticipated annual gala. The Greater Cleveland Sports Awards is an annual fundraiser benefiting the Greater Cleveland Sports Commission.

Lifetime Achievement Award

The Lifetime Achievement Award is given to an individual who has dedicated their lives to the advancement of sport in Cleveland.

2016 Lifetime Achievement Award: Mike Hargrove

A look at the accomplished career of Cleveland Indians former first baseman and manager, Mike Hargrove

Mike Hargrove is a former Major League Baseball first baseman and manager. During his 12-year playing career, he won both American League Rookie of the Year and The Sporting News Rookie of the Year awards in 1974. Additionally, Hargrove made the American League All-Star team in 1975 during his stint with the Texas Rangers.

On June 14, 1979, Mike Hargrove made his Cleveland Indians debut as a first baseman and went on to be honored as one of the Cleveland Indians’ top 100 players in team history after retiring with a .290 career batting average.  After a combined 21 years with the franchise, Hargrove still has close ties to the organization.

Being recognized for your life's work is extraordinary,” said Mike Hargrove, Lifetime Achievement recipient. “But when that recognition comes from the people that know you best, it is extremely humbling.”

Following his playing career, Hargrove served as manager for the Indians, Baltimore Orioles and Seattle Mariners, holding a career major league managerial record of 1,188-1,176, including 721-591 with the Indians during the years of 1991-1999. The Indians secured five consecutive American League Central titles in 1995-1999, and World Series appearances in 1995 and 1997 under Hargrove’s leadership. He is ranked second on the club’s all-time managerial wins


Past Lifetime Achievement Award Recipients consist of:

2002 – Jim Brown, former running back, Cleveland Browns
2003 – Mark H. McCormack, Founder, International Management Group (IMG)
2004 – Bob Feller, former pitcher, Cleveland Indians
2005 – Richard Jacobs, former owner, Cleveland Indians
2006 – Herb Score, former pitcher & announcer, Cleveland Indians
2007 – Joe Tait, former broadcaster, Cleveland Cavaliers
2008 – Chuck Kyle, Head Football Coach, St. Ignatius High School
2009 – Bob Kain, former CEO, IMG
2010 – Dr. John A. Bergfield. M.D., Sr. Orthopedic Surgeon & team physician, Cleveland Clinic
2011 – Reggie Rucker, former wide receiver, Cleveland Browns
2012 – Austin Carr, former guard & current broadcaster, Cleveland Cavaliers
2013 – Bernie Kosar, former quarterback, Cleveland Browns
2014 – Tom Hamilton, sportscaster & announcer, Cleveland Indians
2015 – Jim Donovan, radio & TV personality, Cleveland Browns